Wales: Where I left a Piece of my Heart

I missed Wales and that’s true, I used to live in Swansea for 9 years so now and again I visit my friends and previous colleagues. This time im visiting my friend Claire in Cardiff. Every time I visited her we usually go for a day out with her girls.Today I suggested Caerphilly Castle its a great time to visit, theres a medieval events for two day over the weekend. We didn’t waste anytime we drove off to Caerphilly just after lunch, the traffic near the town centre is quite busy. We thought the castle would be so crowded considering its weekend. We found a parking area just across the road to the castle its very handy and the ticket is cheap too its only Β£1.20 for 4 hours its a bargain.
We walked across the road and the granduer of the castle facades welcomed us and what a beautiful sunny day. Even though its sunny its still chilly and cold, hats gloves and scarf comes to fashionable accessories and kept us warm. We paid our castle entry ticket for Β£5.50 p/a and the kids are free.
As soon as we got through the wooden gate, we were greeted by the crowd. Curiosity strike so we joined the crowds and soon we found out its a fire juggler reformer. It was very impressive and kids enjoyed the performance. Then we moved to the nearest tent where they showcased a Victorian Games.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

After the jugglers performance we crossed the bridge and enter the main castle grounds. There’s another medieval show it’s a ferret race it was fun watching it, the kids were shouting for their favourite ferret to win, while the kids enjoying the race, I went around the castle and went for a wander.

image

image

image

image

Went  to the main hall there’s Santa Clause and kids making their wishes and a couple of local products being sold.

image

image

image

image

image
I still believe in Father Christmas

And then went around everyroom in the castle. There was also a group of people making Christmas Wreath in one room.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

It’s just about 4pm but the sun was setting off, I took the opportunity for my Sunset Photography. The Castle with the sunset at the background was just magical.

image

image

image

image

image

image

After I snapped loads of photos we walked towards the Caerphilly Centre where there are different stalls selling christmas gifts and food.

image

image

image

image

image

A cool day out and truly unique experince for the kids they enjoyed. Thanks to my friend Claire and the beautiful girls Zarah Clarice, Reyna and Chantell for a wonderful day in Caerphilly. It’s good to be back even just for couple of days.

14 thoughts on “Wales: Where I left a Piece of my Heart

  1. Wales has some fantastic castles! I hadn’t been for years but visited Cardiff a couple of weeks ago and it’s made me want to get back out there and see more – Caerphilly looks like a good place to start.

    Like

  2. I loved reading this- especially when you mentioned you lived in Swansea. I was supposed to study abroad there in 2010 but had to cancel all plans one month before my departure when my dad fell ill. I know I did the right thing but it broke my heart not going. 5 years later I’ve travelled a lot thought Europe but always avoided Wales because of what happened…looks so nice though. I really do need to go.

    Like

  3. What a gorgeous castle and such a fun event! We love Wales and have visited a few castles ourselves, kids really enjoy events like this, looked like a lot of fun!

    Like

  4. I traveled to Bath over the summer and as we were leaving our tour, the driver took us to the boarder of Whales. I wish I had more time to actually visit. It seems to be so rich with culture. I really enjoyed this post and its pictures.

    Like

    • When I was living in Wales I took it for granted didn’t explore as much as I wanted to …. but now and again if I have time to visit my friends and go for a stroll/drive around there. Yes it’s beautiful place you should visit one day πŸ™‚

      Like

  5. I wrote a similar thing when we visited Wales this year too. I had only this impression of the place from when I was a kid and was dragged there by my gran for holidays at Pontins which I didn’t particularly want to be on!! But we spent a weekend in Snowdonia climbing, hiking and exploring and we totally fell in love with the place. Would move round there if we weren’t travelling!

    Like

    • Haha that’s always the case when we were young we are dragged around to places and we don’t appreciate it, not until we are old enough to explore on our own and admire what’s around us πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

