Wintry Walk in the Forest

It has been suggested by a local that there’s a nice walking trail around Forest of Dean. With eagerness and full of excitement I decided to go for a drive and for a long walk in the Forest. The weather forecast on that day was intermittent rain and sunshine, but it didn’t stopped me for my wanderings.

From Cheltenham it was 30- minute drive through scenic route passing the narrow countryside lane. The green fields, and rolling hills complete the beautiful landscapes. Soon I was heading towards the forest I continued my drive untill I saw a lake. Then I immediately saw a parking area just across the road which was handy. I put my rain coat on and with camera at hand. I was ready and eager for my nature photography stroll. As I walked through the muddy footpaths trail, there were puddles everywhere. It’s good I was geared up with my wellington boots, That reminded me of my childhood days running under the pouring rain. The only difference was on that trail I walked slowly avoiding to be ending up swimming on the muddy puddles. Not that I don’t like mud, I love facial mud therapy but that’s different story.

image

image

image

image

Right, let’s get back to the nature. I continued my walk till I reached the lake. The weather was gloomy and dark, the beautiful view of the lake made it up. There were ducks and swans afloat around the water. Its so picturesque that I cant help to capture the cute creatures.

image

image

image

image

I continued my wandering till I stumble upon a nice wooden arch bridge. Under the bridge there were two ledges resembling mini waterfalls. On the other side of the bridge leads to a picnic area. A good place to spend time with friends and families during Summer time.

image

image

image

image

image

After an hour walk I decided to go back to my car and drove to the nearest village. The weather was cold. It was raining that I ended up the Ostrich Pub in Newland Village is nice place to hang around. It seemed that it was the only one pub standing in the village. The charming old interiors , the exposed beams and the big wooden fireplace added to the coziness of the place. A cottagee feel and very homely.

I craved and ordered hot chocote which unfortunately, run out. Instead I had green tea and also ordered homemade wild mushroom soup. The soup was lovely and well seasoned. After the mouth watering soup, the dessert menu choices were tempting so when the waiter asked me if I wanted dessert I quickly ordered sticky toffee pudding with custard. The sponge was soft with calorie-filled sticky caramel sauce, but well earned after a Β long walk. Oh well thats my excuse anyway.

image

image

image

image

image

The quirkiness of the place and friendly staff completes the whole dining experienced. Β A good spent wintry day out, I must say. Next in line is to have my Spingtime photo walk.

25 thoughts on “Wintry Walk in the Forest

  1. Looks like a great trip out. Sometimes walking is what you need to get some perspective and this looks like a good place! After a long walk though the pub is most definitely called for!

    Like

Leave a Reply

